+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: how to build nameserver

  1. #1
    Hosting Guru kawoyip is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    china , hk
    Posts
    84

    how to build nameserver

    lf l was bought a domain called 123.com
    how to build nameserver for my customer ?

  2. #2
    HWHT Addict hostaddicts is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    You would need root access, and around 2 free IP's. Alternatively, you could probably get your provider to set these up for you.

  3. #3
    Hosting Guru tanderson is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by kawoyip
    lf l was bought a domain called 123.com
    how to build nameserver for my customer ?
    If you are referring in relation to reseller you got from here, then see the offer again.
    They will provide you with personalised name servers as per offer.

    Thomas

  4. #4
    Banned best-p4u is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    72
    Actually, you may not need a DNS server yourself.

    It depends on what site you buy the domains.
    Some site can offer the DNS server for free also.

    For me, I buy the domains form www.namecheap.com. All DNS reocrds can be edited on that site for free.



  5. #5
    HWHT Starter johnejo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    10

    Can someone help with the IP spaghetti I have?

    I just upgraded my dynamic DSL to a static DSL, and my phone company (SBC) gave me a bunch of IP's in the process. They identified five static IP's that I could use for seperate machines, a gateway IP and a sub IP. They also two (2) DNS IP's and a router login IP.

    I am trying to setup a webserver for hosting websites on one of the static IP's, but I am lost regarding what IP's to set my 'nameservers' to. Do I use any of the IP's they gave me, or what??? I am having problems getting domain names pointed to my server and I'm guessing it is because my nameservers are not pointed to the right IP's.

    HELP!!! I can't get any help from SBC on this, and I can't find anyone else who knows the answers to this. I will greatly appreciate your help regarding this.

    Thank you!!

  6. #6
    Banned john_robot is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    52
    Hi, ask them about the name servers , they supposed to give it to you. if you are talking name servers that you want to setup on your own web server then you can register two with your domain name provider , When you register you have to use two usable IP's that they proivided.

  7. #7
    HWHT Starter johnejo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks. I am trying to set up my own web server for hosting purposes. They gave me five static IP's so I'll designate two for this purpose. The first one that the main server is on, and the second on a back-up server. I think that is how it works.

    Thanks for the help. Anything else you can tell me will be appreciated as well.

  8. #8
    Hosting Master jtnhosting is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Namecheap and ENOM allow you to create nameservers directly in the control panel that point to dynamic IPs.
    It's easy for me because I can get a server, set up the nameserver IPs, go to my control panel, create a nameserver, point it to the IPs, and *BAM* I have a hosting company for myself!
    FasterUpload.com File Hosting
    -250 MB Max File Size
    -Unlimited Uploads/Downloads
    -Now a top 25 file host worldwide



  9. #9
    Banned KennyRookerOnline is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    78
    Yes Thats It, Now you have got the information Go For Gold and good luck

  10. #10
    Hosting Guru Elemental is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    87
    DNS Ip's are your Nameservers. Can DNS be set up but HWHT Staff?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how to change nameserver?
    By plachira in forum DNS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2019, 11:20 AM
  2. Feedback on a Free tool to help you build relationships with your visitors
    By NetherBen in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 02:32 AM
  3. Domain nameserver problem
    By Keuzeserver in forum Web Hosting Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-01-2006, 10:48 PM
  4. Great tool to build weblinks directory
    By tanderson in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 11:35 PM
  5. How to build ur own PC
    By XeroRecoil in forum Hosting Chit Chat Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-21-2005, 04:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts